If you have an iPhone 8 or newer, you may want to update to iOS 16 if you haven’t already. Apple’s latest operating system offers some cool new features such as: B. the ability to cancel and edit text messages and lock the screen.
iOS 16 also introduced key security features that protect your identity and let you know who has access to the information stored on your phone. Tap or click here to enable new iPhone security features now.
For an extreme level of protection, there’s Apple’s lockdown mode. The company says this feature is for people who face serious, targeted threats to their digital security. But everyone can find benefits here – if you’re caring for family members with limited abilities, you might want to check out the lockdown mode. Here’s what it does and what limits it. We also have the rundown of Google lockdown mode for Android phones.
High profile goals
Apple’s lockdown mode changes the functionality of your iPhone. It severely restricts certain apps, websites and features to protect against targeted cyber attacks.
Politicians, lawyers and activists are among the intended users as they are often targeted by individuals or even government sponsored hackers. Lockdown mode protects iPhone’s vulnerabilities and prevents intrusion of spyware that doesn’t require user interaction.
TIED TOGETHER: 5 Types of Cyber Security Threats You Should Know
While most people are unlikely to fall victim to these types of cyberattacks, there are other vulnerable groups.
Caretakers take note
Kim receives calls from people caring for family members with limited abilities, such as B. People with Alzheimer’s, Parkinson’s and ALS. Their caregivers are looking for ways to protect them from doing things they shouldn’t be doing on their devices.
If you care about someone, you can talk to them about the risks of certain actions they take with their iPhone. You can get them a new phone or a “dumb” phone with less smart features. Or you can try lockdown mode.
TIED TOGETHER: Apple Security Tip: Use Private Browsing to Erase Your Digital Traces (iPhone, iPad, Mac)
The Limits of Apple’s Lockdown Mode
When lockdown mode is on, some apps and features work differently. It changes what is accessible on an iPhone:
- surf the Internet: This disables certain features in the Safari browser, making some websites slow, glitchy or unloadable. You can exclude trusted websites from blocking mode by going to Settings > Privacy & security > Lockdown mode > Configure web browsing.
- App Restrictions: Certain apps are blocked and restricted. You can exclude trusted apps from lockdown mode by going to Settings > Privacy & security > Lockdown mode > Configure web browsing and turn off apps from the menu.
- Apple Services: Incoming invitations to Apple services like Calendar and Notes are blocked unless you’ve previously invited them.
- USB accessories: The device must be unlocked to connect it to a USB accessory or another computer.
- Configuration Profiles: Configuration profiles (like those for Apple’s public beta programs or school/work networks) cannot be installed.
- Restricted enrollment: The device cannot be enrolled in mobile device management or device monitoring in lockdown mode.
Lockdown mode affects how you communicate on a personal level, so keep the following in mind:
FaceTime: Incoming FaceTime calls will be blocked if you’ve never called that person. To block a contact, turn blocking mode off, call that person with FaceTime, and then turn blocking mode back on.
Messages: Most message attachments are blocked except for certain images, videos, and audio files. Some features like links and link previews will also be removed.
Shared Albums: Shared albums are removed from the Photos app and new invitations to shared albums are blocked. You can still view this content on other devices that don’t have lockdown mode enabled.
Activate lockdown mode on an iPhone
Now that you know what lockdown mode does, here’s how to turn it on:
- Go to Settings > Privacy & security.
- Scroll down to security section and tap lockdown mode.
- Beat Activate lockdown modethen tap Activate lockdown mode again on the next screen.
- Beat power on and restart, Then enter your device passcode.
When lockdown mode is on, you might get notifications when an app or feature is restricted. A banner in Safari also indicates that lockdown mode is on.
For more information on lockdown mode, visit Apple’s support page here.
Android has its own lockdown mode with important differences
With Android 9 Pie, Google introduced its own lockdown mode. This is more of a physical security measure, as opposed to Apple’s lockdown mode, which is more cybersecurity-focused.
The Limits of Google’s Lockdown Mode
If you turn on lockdown mode on your Android phone, disabling biometric authentication makes unlocking it much more difficult. Here’s what it does:
- Face recognition is disabled.
- The fingerprint sensor is disabled.
- Lock screen notifications are disabled.
- You can only unlock the phone with a PIN, password, or gesture.
Activate lockdown mode on most Android phones
You may need to enable lockdown mode on older Android phones before you can use it. Here’s how:
- Got to settings > Security & Location.
- Go to Lock screen settings.
- Tap to activate Show lock option.
Lockdown mode is on by default if you’re running Android 11 or later.
Now that it’s enabled, here’s how you can use lockdown mode:
- Press and hold your phone’s power button to view the power menu.
- Tap the curfew pressed and the lock mode is activated. You will go directly to the lock screen.
Activate lockdown mode on Samsung phones
By default, lockdown mode is not an option in the power menu on Samsung devices and must be enabled. Here’s how:
- Go to Settings > Lock Screen.
- Go to Lock screen > Secure lock settings.
- Tap to activate Show lock option.
After enabling lockdown mode on your Samsung phone, you can use it as follows:
- From your home screen swipe down twice.
- Tap the power icon at the top of your screen to go to the power menu.
- Beat curfew mode.
A NOTICE: This security setting is a one-time use — whenever you unlock your phone while lock mode is on, the setting will be disabled. You need to follow the steps above to turn it back on.
You may also like… Genius trick to find any message you are looking for in seconds