Australia’s continued dominance, Laura Wolvaardt’s class and other records

The exciting eighth edition of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup has come to a close in Cape Town as the powerful Australians were crowned a record sixth winner. Australia Women’s are by far the most successful team in the cricket world.

29-year-old star performer Beth Mooney played an unbeaten 74-run knock and helped Australia post a decent total (156/6) on the board. The goal proved too much for hosts South Africa, who eventually lost the grand final by a margin of 19 runs.

For South Africa, Laura Wolvaardt has had brilliant shots in the last three games for South Africa, scoring three consecutive half centuries (66*, 53, 61). She was instrumental in helping her side qualify for the finals for the first time in World Cup history. Her three half centuries included the goal she scored in the final against Australia. Unfortunately, despite amassing 61 runs, she was unable to get her team across the finish line.

In the end, the Aussies edged out the Proteas by a narrow margin to once again claim the coveted world title in women’s cricket. From the start, the Aussie women were the favourites.

Top performers:

Laura Wolvaardt leads the batting chart with 230 runs at a 46 average, followed by Nat Sciver-Brunt (216) with a 72 average and Beth Mooney (206) in third place. Mooney has a 51.50 average over six games.

In the bowling department, Sophie Ecclestone of England tops the list for most wickets with 11 scalps from five games. She is followed in next place by Megan Schutt and Asleigh Gardner with 10 wickets each.

READ :  Microsoft Brings Back SwiftKey for iOS, Teases New Features Coming Soon

Sophie Eccleston. (Photo Source: MARCO LONGARI/AFP via Getty Images)

Richa Ghosh was instrumental in seven layoffs behind the stumps while Amy Jones is second with five layoffs.

Statistics and figures from the ICC Women’s World Cup 2023:

1 – This is the first time that South Africa has reached the final of the World Cup tournament, which includes both men’s and women’s cricket competitions.

1 – Meg Lanning was the first captain to play 100 T20Is.

6 – The Australian women now have six T20 World Cup titles, the most of any team.

5-Meg Lanning now has five T20 World Cup titles as a skipper.

Harmanpreet Kaur, Meg Lanning and Heather Knight. (Photo source: Twitter)

Most T20 World Cup titles as captain (both men’s and women’s).

5-Meg Lanning

2 – Darren Sammy

2 – Bethany Mooney has two half centuries in the T20 World Cup finals.

Most Half Centuries in T20 World Championship Finals:

2-Kumar Sangakkara

2-Marlon Samuels

2 – Bethany Mooney

43 – Shabnim Ismail now has 43 T20 World Cup wickets, which is the most of any player at the Women’s T20 World Cup. She surpassed Anya Shrubsole’s tally of 41 wickets.

4 – South Africa Women became the fourth team to appear as hosts in the finals of the T20 World Cup.

Host nations compete in T20 World Cup finals:

2009 – England Women

2012 – Sri Lanka

2020 – Australia Women

2023 – South Africa Women

1 – Laura Wolvaardt became the first South African to score at a World Cup in half a century.

8 – Chloe Tryon became the eighth South African woman to score 1000 runs in the Women’s T20I

READ :  Delete this popular task manager app immediately if you are an Android user

2 -Laura Wolvaardt became the second player after Mahela Jayawardene to score 50 plus points three times in a row in the T20 World Cup.

2 – Harmanpreet Kaur now has the second most sixes in the Women’s T20 World Cup, matching Sophie Devine’s tally of 18 sixes. Deandra Dottin tops the list with 22 highs.

For a better experience: Download CricTracker app from IOS App Store and Google Play Store