EGCC to share in $17.7M Intel workforce training | News, Sports, Jobs

YOUNGSTOWN – Eastern Gateway Community College is part of a collaboration of 16 community colleges and technical schools in Ohio to develop semiconductor education and staffing programs for tech giant Intel.

As part of the Artificial Intelligence Incubator Network, EGCC will provide people and career acceleration training as a gateway to in-demand areas.

The effort is part of a $17.7 million investment that Intel will make over the next three years in colleges and universities across the state to create semiconductor-focused educational and human resources programs.

Intel announced the funding — part of its $50 million, 10-year commitment — on Friday ahead of breaking ground on a leading $20 billion computer chip factory in New Albany.

EGCC has worked with the other schools in the group and Intel and Dell Technologies to provide training and employment opportunities for local and local students.

The funding is intended to help bridge semiconductor manufacturing labor shortages and engineering challenges to develop new chip-making skills.

“EGCC, guided by Dell Technologies, will develop AI labs that will be in-person, online, or hybrid options. Dell will work with EGCC on job skills and employability for AI-related careers. We will continue to respond to the demands of our local workforce to create growth opportunities for our students,” said Arthur Daly, EGCC senior vice president and chief development officer.

Other schools in the group are Belmont College, Central Ohio Technical College, Cincinnati State Technical & Community College, Clark State Community College, Columbus State Community College, Cuyahoga Community College, Edison State Community College, Hocking College , Lakeland Community College and Lorain County Community College, Marion Technical College, North Central State College, Northwest State Community College, Owens Community College, Rhodes State College, Rio Grande Community College, Sinclair Community College, Southern State Community College, Stark State College, Terra State Community College, Washington State Community College and Zane State College.

Youngstown State and Kent State universities are also included in proposals, which will receive a share of the $17.7 million.

YSU will work with 10 other colleges and universities in Northeast Ohio to provide training programs in automation, robotics, microelectronics and semiconductor processing.

Kent State will lead a network of 13 other colleges and universities to prepare the workforce to make small electronic devices. The proposal will expand facility endowment and virtual and augmented reality learning in a variety of programs for manufacturing technicians, entry-level engineers and advanced manufacturing degrees.

The school’s seven branches are part of the effort, including Kent State University at Trumbull in Champion.

Today’s breaking news and more in your inbox