Every Batman Arkham game in chronological order

Warner Bros. Games’ Batman Arkham series remains one of the most popular superhero gaming series in recent memory. The amazing portrayal of the caped Crusader of Gotham City captivated both fans of the eponymous character and casual gamers alike. Since it’s immensely popular, newer players may be wondering how to play the games in chronological order to fully understand and immerse themselves in the story. So let’s take a look at all the mainline games in the Arkham series in chronological order.

Related: The 10 best Batman games of all time, ranked

Batman: Arkham Origins

Image via Arkham City Wiki

Chronologically, Arkham Origins is the first game in Batman/Bruce Wayne history. Here, players take on the role of a younger and less experienced Batman, only in his second year fighting crime in the city of Gotham. At this point, Batman is less masterful in combat and can only take on weaker opponents. But that all changes when Black Mask puts a bounty on his head and eight of the best assassins, including Deathstroke and Bane, are eager to complete the task. Batman must contend with hit men, but also juggle his nemesis, the Joker, while earning the trust of Police Captain James Gordon and Gotham City.

Batman: Arkham Origins Blackgate

Image from Warner Bros. Games

Arkham Origins: Blackgate is set three months after the events of Arkham Origins and features 2.5D Metroid-style gameplay. After all of Gotham’s main criminals have been imprisoned, an outbreak erupts in Blackgate, leading to a massive riot. The Joker, the Penguin and the Black Mask occupy three sections of the prison with their minions. Batman is tasked by Captain Gordon with investigating the outbreak and defeating the three criminals. Batman also meets Catwoman for the first time.

READ :  AirspeederXR: Flying cars aren't just real, they're already racing, and soon they'll be a virtual vroomstick anyone can ride

Batman: Arkham Asylum

Image from Warner Bros. Games

Arkham Asylum is set in the eponymous asylum off the coast of Gotham City, where big-time super-criminals and Batman’s craziest enemies are being held. Batman captures the Joker and takes him to Arkham Asylum, believing he got caught. Batman’s fears come true when the Joker, with the help of other super criminals, takes over Arkham Asylum and aims to possess the overpowered Titan drug. Batman must defeat all criminals, including Joker, and make sure Titan doesn’t fall into the wrong hands.

Batman: Lockdown of Arkham City

Image from Warner Bros. Games

Arkham City Lockdown – Joker, Two-Face and other notorious criminals escape from Arkham Asylum and wreak havoc on the streets of Gotham City. Batman is tasked with taking them out, arresting them and returning them to police custody.

Batman Arkham City

Image via Arkham City Wiki

In Arkham City, Bruce is thrown into the criminal prison known as Arkham City in the Gotham slums with his Batman identity at stake. Recovering his gear, Batman keeps an eye on the entire prison town and its inmates, making sure chaos doesn’t break out. But he soon learns of the existence of an operation known as Protocol 10 and plans to uncover its secrets. In search of answers, the Joker infects Batman with a deadly mutant disease he received through a blood transfusion from the Titan drug. Affected by this disease, Batman takes it upon himself to find a cure for the disease while uncovering Protocol 10 in Arkham City.

Batman: Arkham VR

Image from Warner Bros. Games

Arkham VR offers a virtual reality experience for players who want to fully immerse themselves in the role of Batman. In it, Batman is suffering from nightmares from his childhood when he is awakened by Alfred. He informs him that both Nightwing and Robin have disappeared and they cannot be contacted. Batman takes it upon himself to find them both in Gotham City, where they are interrogating several super criminals.

READ :  Nightwing Invented an Iconic Batman Franchise Weapon (Not Bruce)

Batman: Arkham Knight

Image from Warner Bros. Games

Arkham Knight is set nine months after the events of Arkham City and the death of the Joker. During this time, Batman struggles to come to terms with the fact that his nemesis no longer exists. But Gotham City is now safer than ever without the Joker. But other supervillains like Two-Face, Scarecrow, and Harley Quinn are still out of bars trying to figure out a way to deal with Batman once and for all. With Scarecrow threatening to unleash his fear poison across Gotham, Batman intends to stop him and other villains, including the mysterious Arkham Knight.

Suicide Squad: Kill the Justice League

Image from Warner Bros. Games

Suicide Squad: Kill the Justice League takes place a few months after the events of Arkham Knight. Instead of focusing on Batman and taking place in Gotham, the game focuses on four super villains: Harley Quinn, Deadshot, Captain Boomerang and King Shark and takes place in Metropolis. They are formed by Amanda Waller as a task force dubbed the “Suicide Squad” for a covert mission in Metropolis. They learn that Brainiac has entered Earth and brainwashed its inhabitants, including members of the Justice League, Superman, The Flash, and Green Lantern. The Suicide Squad is tasked with killing the Justice League members and stopping Brainiac in order to save Metropolis and eventually the world.

The Batman Arkham Games in order of publication

  • Batman: Arkham Asylum (2009)
  • Batman: Lockdown of Arkham City (2011)
  • Batman: Arkham City (2011)
  • Batman: Origins of Arkham (2013)
  • Batman: Arkham Origins Blackgate (2013)
  • Batman: Arkham Knight (2015)
  • Batman: Arkham VR (2016)
  • Suicide Squad: Kill the Justice League (2023)
READ :  Broncos vs Colts: Social media reacts to lackluster Thursday Night Football game