GG decides against MI for the tournament opener

WPL 2023 LIVE Opening Ceremony Updates: The five captains – Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana, Beth Mooney, Meg Lanning and Alyssa Healy – came together to unveil the Women’s Premier League trophy after the opening ceremony.

The Women’s Premier League logo as unveiled at the February 13 players’ auction. Sportzpics for BCCI

Preview: March 4th will be remembered as a historic day, not only for women’s cricket in India but around the world, as the Women’s Premier League is finally set to get underway after years of uncertainty over its existence.

Five-time Indian Premier League champions Mumbai Indians will open the tournament against the Gujarat Giants at Navi Mumbai’s DY Patil Stadium, where a glittering opening ceremony featuring film stars such as Kriti Sanon and Kiara Advani and popular singer AP Dhillon will mark the tournament’s kick-off.

MI is one of the three IPL franchises – Delhi Capitals and Royal Challengers Bangalore are the other two – and also has a presence in the women’s league. While the WPL also includes the Ahmedabad and Lucknow franchises, they are owned by separate companies than the IPL.

While MI is captained by Indian skipper Harmanpreet Kaur, who went to the franchise for a sum of Rs 1.8 crore, GG is captained by Beth Mooney, one of the three Australian captains in the league, along with Meg Lanning and Alyssa Healy, the Delhi Capitals and UP lead Warriorz and

While the game was originally scheduled to start at 7:30pm IST, it was later pushed back to 8am by half an hour. The opening ceremony is scheduled to begin at 6:25 p.m. IST.

READ :  Amazon Halo Rise Combines Sunrise Alarm With Sleep Tracker In One Nightstand Gadget


Indians from Mumbai: Hayley Matthews, Yastika Bhatia(w), Harmanpreet Kaur(c), Nat Sciver-Brunt, Amelia Kerr, Heather Graham, Amanjot Kaur, Humaira Kazi, Pooja Vastrakar, Priyanka Bala, Neelam Bisht, Issy Wong, Saika Ishaque , Dhara Gujjar, Sonam Yadav, Jintimani Kalita, and Chloe Tryon

Gujarat Giants: Sabbhineni Meghana, Beth Mooney (w/c), Harleen Deol, Sophia Dunkley, Ashleigh Gardner, Ashwani Kumari, Dayalan Hemalatha, Sneh Rana, Mansi Joshi, Tanuja Kanwar, Monica Patel, Hurley Gala, Shabnam Md Shakil, Parunika Sisodia , Annabel Sutherland, Georgia Wareham, Sushma Verma, and Kim Garth

Read all Latest News, Trending News, Cricket News, Bollywood News, India News and Entertainment News here. Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Date updated: March 4, 2023 19:37:16 IST

Find the latest and upcoming tech gadgets online at Tech2 Gadgets. Get technology news, gadget reviews and ratings. Popular gadgets including specifications, features, prices and comparisons of laptops, tablets and mobile devices.

also read