ONE of iPhone’s best settings is behind an orange square.
It’s important to check this out as soon as possible – some iPhone settings are just too important to ignore.
Make sure you have the best tracking settings that suit your own privacy needsCredit: Apple/The US Sun
In recent years, Apple has made it easier than ever to stop apps from excessively tracking you.
It makes sense for an app to be able to see what you’re doing while you’re on the site.
But you might not necessarily want iPhone apps to follow you around the web.
“App Tracking Transparency allows you to choose whether an app can track your activity across other companies’ apps and websites for advertising purposes or for sharing with data brokers,” Apple said.
“In iOS 14.5, iPadOS 14.5, and tvOS 14.5 or later, apps must ask permission before tracking your activity across other companies’ apps and websites.
“Tracking occurs when information that identifies you or your device collected by an app is combined with information that identifies you or your device collected from apps, websites and other places owned by third parties.
“For the purposes of targeted advertising or advertising measurement, or when the information collected is shared with data brokers.”
You’ve probably noticed the pop-ups when you try an app for the first time.
iPhone gives you the option to allow tracking — or ask the app not to track.
It is always possible to change your mind in your settings.
Likewise, you can quickly check if you accidentally allowed tracking in the past — and change your mind if you now regret it.
You need to go into the Settings app and then tap on Privacy & Security.
Now tap Tracking at the top – there’s a big square orange button next to it so you don’t miss it.
“If you select Ask App Not to Track, the app developer cannot access the System Advertising Identifier (IDFA), which is commonly used for tracking,” Apple explained.
“The app is also not allowed to track your activity using any other information that identifies you or your device, such as your email address.”
You can find a list of all the apps that have asked you to track your activity with an identifier in your tracking settings.
This system will be blocked if you deny access.
Just use the toggle next to each app name.
If it’s green, the app is allowed to track you.
And if it’s grayed out, the app can’t follow you around the web (and across other apps) using a unique identifier.
It’s worth checking the tracking section regularly – it’s one of the top iPhone hacks.