Monks will play in the first round of the NCAA at the University of Scranton

STANDISH, Maine — The 2023 NCAA DIII Women’s Basketball Tournament field has been announced and Saint Joseph’s College (23-5, 15-2 GNAC) is scheduled to compete at #3 University of Scranton (27-0, 14-0 Landmark) play a first round competition on Friday at 20:30.

More information will be released at sometime Tuesday after a conference call with NCAA officials.

Led by 31-year head coach Mike McDevitt ’83, the Monks automatically qualified for the national tournament for the fifth time — and the first time since 2018 — after beating Emmanuel College (74-67) at the Great Northeast Athletic Conference (GNAC) had won. Championship at the Harold Alfond Center on Sunday. Saint Joseph’s last competed in the NCAA tournament in 2019 after earning a big spot in the “Big Dance.”

The Landmark Conference seed, Scranton #2 defeated Elizabethtown 69-54 in Saturday’s conference championship game at the John Long Center. The Lady Royals have won eight consecutive Landmark Conference championships and will compete in an NCAA tournament on the program for their 35th – and 10th straight year

Friday’s fight for the NCAA tournament marks the first meeting of the Saint Joseph’s and Scranton women’s basketball programs since the teams faced each other on Jan. 5, 2014 at the Hat City Classic Tournament in Danbury, Connecticut. 51 margin that day.

Friday night’s other competition at the four-team Scranton pod includes Rowan University (20-8) and Rhode Island College (24-3), a game starting at 6 p.m. Match winner Rowan/RIC meets winner Scranton/Saint Joseph in a second round match on Saturday at 20:00.

READ :  Utica University expert comments on the state of cybersecurity in New York


INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division III Women’s Basketball Committee today announced the field of 64 teams for the 2023 championship.

Forty-four conferences were automatically qualified for the 2023 championship. One seat was reserved for Pool B and the last 19 spots were reserved for Pool C, which includes institutions from automatically qualified conferences that are not the conference champion and all remaining teams from Pool B.

Sixteen first/second round sites will be conducted March 3rd-4th. The second round winners will advance to one of the four section locations on March 10-11. The winners of the four sections will advance to the national semifinals on March 18th. All matches, with the exception of the semifinals and finals, will be played on the campus of the competing institutions. The semifinals will be played at Oosting High School in Hartford, Connecticut, hosted by Trinity College (Connecticut).

For only the second time in the 41-year history of NCAA women’s basketball, the NCAA Division II and III national championships will be decided at the Women’s Final Four grounds. Both games will be held at the American Airlines Center on Saturday, April 1, with the Division III championship game taking place at 11:00 a.m. Central Time, followed by the Division II title game at 2:30 p.m. Central Time. Both games will be broadcast on CBS Sports Network.

Click or tap here to view the 64 team field | See the bracket