Press release: ECOG-ACRIN announces the recipe

Image: Patrick M. Forde, MBBCh, recipient of ECOG-ACRIN’s 2023 Young Investigator Award. Learn more

Photo credit: Johns Hopkins University

ECOG-ACRIN Cancer Research Group (ECOG-ACRIN) announces the following cancer researchers as recipients of the organization’s annual Scientific Leadership and Mentorship Awards. Through its mentoring program, ECOG-ACRIN recognizes outstanding scientific leadership through events and awards that identify, encourage and recognize researchers in the early years of their careers. The program will expand to include the Remarkable Mentor to Women in Oncology Award in 2023.

Young Researcher of the Year

Patrick M. Forde, MBBCh, is the recipient of the 2023 Young Investigator Award, a professional award recognizing the scientific achievements of researchers in the early years of their careers. dr Forde is an associate professor of oncology at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine and co-director of the Division of Upper Aerodigestive Malignancies at the Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center in Baltimore, Maryland. His research is investigating the role of immunotherapy in mesothelioma and lung cancer and has led to the development of several Phase 3 trials, including the ongoing PrECOG DREAM3R trial. DREAM3R is investigating the combination of chemotherapy with and without durvalumab in patients with inoperable pleural mesothelioma. dr Forde led the CheckMate 816 study that led to FDA approval of neoadjuvant chemoimmunotherapy for the treatment of patients with early-stage non-small cell lung cancer (Forde PM et al. N Engl J Med. May 2022). Click here to watch ECOG-ACRIN’s tribute video to Dr. look at Ford.

First prize for “Notable Mentor to Women in Oncology”.

READ :  Karmanos Cancer Institute Opens Medical Oncology Clinic in Roseville and Welcomes New Oncologist | McLaren health news

Arlene A. Forastiere, MD, is the first recipient of the Remarkable Mentor to Women in Oncology Award. Members of the ECOG-ACRIN Task Force for the Advancement of Women created this professional award to recognize an ECOG-ACRIN member for their sustained commitment to developing the careers of women in cancer medicine and the advancement of female researchers within the group . dr Forastiere is Professor of Oncology, Professor of Otorhinolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery, and Professor of Radiation Oncology and Molecular Sciences, all at Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine in Baltimore, Maryland. Her leadership roles at ECOG-ACRIN, the University of Michigan, Johns Hopkins University and nationally have had a profound impact on the success and representation of many women in oncology.

Paul Carbone, MD Fellowship Award

Julia D. Ransohoff, MD, is the recipient of the 2023 Paul Carbone, MD Fellowship Award, a one-year, one-time research grant to develop and promote excellent clinical trials leading to improvements in cancer care. dr Ransohoff is a fellow in hematology and oncology at Stanford University School of Medicine in Stanford, California. Her research project will focus on tailoring post-neoadjuvant therapy in patients with high-risk triple-negative breast cancer by detecting minimal residual disease using next-generation sequencing. Each year, ECOG-ACRIN nominates an Outstanding Senior Research Fellow from a member institution to receive this award and the professional recognition that goes with it. The Carbone Fellowship is funded by the ECOG Research & Education Foundation.


The ECOG-ACRIN Cancer Research Group (ECOG-ACRIN) is a membership-based scientific organization that designs and conducts adult cancer research involving adults who have or are at risk of developing cancer. The group includes nearly 1,300 member institutions and 15,000 research professionals in the United States and around the world. Visit, follow us on Twitter @eaonc, Facebook and LinkedIn, or call 215.789.3631.

READ :  Baron & Budd files lawsuit on behalf of five public entities against PG&E for mosquito fire damage

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of the press releases published on EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information about the EurekAlert system.