The success of Lahore Qalandars, the exploits of Babar Azam and other statistics

The high-octane eighth edition of the Pakistan Super League came to a close as Lahore Qalandars were crowned champions for the second straight year. Interestingly, the Qalandars became the first team to defend a title in PSL history.

The Multan Sultans lost back-to-back finals against the same opponents as skipper Shaheen Afridi’s aggregate performance (44/15 undefeated and four wickets) just edged Rizwan & Co. in one of the most thrilling finals.

Top performers:

Multan skipper Mohammad Rizwan led the hit list with 550 runs at a stunning 55 average in 12 innings, followed by Babar Azam, who hit 522 runs at an average of 52.20 in 11 innings. South Africa’s Rilee Rossouw was third with 453 runs at a 45.30 average. In the bowling division, Abbas Afridi ended up at the top with 23 wickets, followed by Ihansullah (22 wickets) and Rashid Khan (20 wickets).

Let’s look at some key numbers of Pakistan Super League 2023:

1 – Lahore Qalandars became the first team to defend a title in PSL history.

2 – Lahore Qalandar now have two titles with Islamabad United, which is the most of any PSL team.

76 – Lahore Qalandars averaged 76 points against the Multan Sultans in the qualifier, the second-lowest for them in PSL and fourth-lowest overall in PSL.

Lowest team totals in PSL:

59 – Lahore Qalandars vs Peshawar Zalmi in 2017

73 – Quetta Gladiators vs Multan Sultans in 2021

76 – Lahore Qalandars vs. Multan Sultans in 2023

78 – Lahore Qalandars vs Peshawar Zalmi in 2019

162 – Babar Azam and Saim Ayub registered a 162-run partnership against Quetta Gladiators, the second-highest of any wicket PSL history. Sharjeel Khan and Babar top the list for their 176-run record against Islamabad United in 2021.

READ :  How to Delete Contacts in Bulk on Android? (Full Guide 2022)

1 – Babar was the fastest hitter to hit 9000 runs in T20. He took 245 innings, beating Chris Gayle’s 249 tally.

2 – Babar registered his 8th century which is the second highest for any batter in T20s. Chris Gayle tops the list at 22.

36 – Usman Khan hit the PSL’s fastest hundreds and broke Rilee Rossouw’s record 41-ball hundred set in the previous PSL game against Peshawar Zalmi.

1 – Jason Roy hit 145* (63) against Peshawar Zalmi which is the highest single point total in PSL, beating Colin Ingram’s 127 against Quetta Gladiators.

1 – Multan Sultans scored 262 points in 20 overs against Quetta Gladiators which is the highest total in PSL history.

Highest team totals in PSL

262/3 – Multan Sultans vs. Quetta Gladiators

253/8 – Quetta Gladiators vs. Multan Sultans

247/2 – Islamabad United vs. Peshawar Zalmi

245/3 – Multan Sultans vs. Quetta Gladiators

1 – 515 runs scored between Quetta Gladiators and Multan Sultans is the highest match total in T20s history.

Highest match aggregates in T20

515 – Quetta Gladiators versus Multan Sultans

501 – Titans vs. Knights

497 – Central Districts vs. Otago

For a better experience: Download CricTracker app from IOS App Store and Google Play Store