Want to know what Reset All Settings does on iPhone and iPad? In this guide, I have covered extensively this reset option present in iPhone and iPad Settings app. Reset All Settings option on iPhone and iPad is a powerful tool.
Factory data reset is a quick and easy way to restore your device to its original factory settings. This feature is particularly useful for fixing problems that cannot be solved by other common and simple fixes.
What does resetting all settings do on iPhone and iPad?
A reset is always initiated as a last resort to restore the current settings to factory defaults. It’s a useful trick to undo technical glitches that otherwise couldn’t be fixed by iOS updates.
Note that resetting all settings will not delete any of your device data. This means that your files such as photos, documents or videos remain intact. Instead, your device will simply be restored to its original settings. Various aspects of the iPhone or iPad settings that you have customized are removed when you reset all settings.
This will give you a fresh start and help solve any issues that you may encounter with the functioning of iOS/iPadOS.
1. Steps to reset all settings on an iPhone and iPad
If you have never reset your iPhone or iPad before, here are the steps to reset all settings on your respective Apple smartphone/tab. Resetting all settings on your iPhone or iPad is a simple process.
Go to the Settings app on your device. Tap General > Scroll to Transfer or Reset.
Scroll down and tap Reset. Tap Reset All Settings.
Enter your passcode to confirm the reset. Wait for the reset process to complete, which may take a few minutes. 2. Why do you need to reset all settings?
Here are some of the situations where an option to reset all settings on iPhone or iPad becomes necessary.
If your device is running slow or experiencing performance issues even after you manually manage apps and tasks. Secondly, if your device encounters error messages or crashes frequently without any general or major hardware and software issues.
Also, did you recently install a new software update on iOS or iPadOS? After that, you encounter strange technical problems. Applying a troubleshooting tip does not work to resolve the issue. Then you need to reset all settings on iPhone.
3. What is removed when Reset All Settings is enabled?
Here’s a full detail of the various aspects of iOS and iPadOS that return to the default parameters when you confirm Reset All Settings.
Previously saved Wi-Fi networks and their respective passwords are permanently removed. All Bluetooth devices paired with your iPhone and iPad will be removed. Any hotspot connections you have saved will be deleted. The cards added to Apple Pay will be removed. The words you have built into your iPhone dictionary will be permanently deleted. The iPhone and iPad wallpaper and ringtone will change to the default settings. [the same ones when you unboxed the device]
The display and brightness level you set will also be reset to the default setting. The date and time are reset. Resets Wi-Fi credentials on all iCloud Keychain devices using Apple ID when iCloud Keychain is turned on. The iPhone and iPad are disconnected from iMessage and FaceTime. iPhone and iPad passcode will be removed. Touch ID and Face ID patterns will also be deleted. All content restrictions will be reset. All accessibility settings are removed. Location services for the apps will be disabled. Your encrypted backup password will be deleted. The VPN will be disabled. 4. What remains safe when you reset all settings?
Here are the various aspects of iPhone settings and data that will remain untouched in case you reset all settings.
App Store Settings. iCloud content. Content in the Photos app and Files app. Music and video files on iPhone/iPad remain unchanged. You remain signed in to the App Store and iCloud. Wrap up
I hope this guide has now clarified what Reset All Settings does on iPhone and iPad. If you’re having trouble with iOS or iPadOS, always try the general fixes. If nothing else solves the mentioned problem, do a full reset of iPhone or iPad settings.